Bangladesh vs Ireland, Only Test, Match Report

Bangladesh Wins Only Test Match Against Ireland by 7 Wickets: Mushfiqur Rahim Declared Player of the Match

Bangladesh won the only Test match against Ireland, held at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, Bangladesh, from April 4 to 7, 2023, by 7 wickets.

Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bowl first. Ireland started their first innings, but they struggled against the Bangladesh bowling attack. They lost their first wicket, Murray Commins, in the fifth over with just five runs on the board. Andy Balbirnie, the Irish captain, also failed to make an impact, getting out lbw to Taijul Islam for 16 runs. Harry Tector held the Irish innings together with a half-century, but he didn't get much support from the other batsmen. Curtis Campher and Lorcan Tucker made useful contributions, but no one managed to get a big score. Ireland was bowled out for 214 runs in 77.2 overs. Taijul Islam and Shoriful Islam took five and one wicket respectively for Bangladesh.

In reply, Bangladesh started strongly, with Tamim Iqbal and Mominul Haque putting up 21 runs for the first wicket. But Mark Adair removed both of them in quick succession, and Bangladesh was in a bit of trouble at 38/2. However, Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib Al Hasan took charge of the innings and scored a century each. They put on a partnership of 187 runs for the fourth wicket, which set up Bangladesh for a big total. Litton Das and Mehidy Hasan Miraz also contributed with 43 and 55 runs respectively. Bangladesh declared their first innings at 369/8 after 101.2 overs. Andy McBrine was the most successful bowler for Ireland, taking five wickets for 97 runs.

In their second innings, Ireland put up a much better fight. Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, and Mark Adair all scored half-centuries, and Ireland managed to set a target of 292 runs for Bangladesh. Taijul Islam was the pick of the Bangladesh bowlers, taking five wickets for 58 runs.

Chasing 292, Bangladesh got off to a solid start, with Tamim Iqbal and Najmul Hossain Shanto putting up 32 runs for the first wicket. However, Tamim was dismissed by Andy McBrine, and Bangladesh lost two more wickets in quick succession. But Mushfiqur Rahim once again played a brilliant innings, scoring an unbeaten 51 runs and taking Bangladesh to victory. Shakib Al Hasan also contributed with 32 runs, and Bangladesh won the match by 7 wickets.

Mushfiqur Rahim was declared the Player of the Match for his brilliant batting performance in both innings. He scored 126 runs in the first innings and followed it up with an unbeaten 51 in the second innings. With this victory, Bangladesh won the only Test match against Ireland and started their home season on a high note.

Related Topics